Built-in, Part 2

You would think having a little wood shop just in the basement would make it really easy to get stuff made, but sadly, this is not the case.  I don’t get down there nearly as much as I’d like and it’s my own fault entirely.  

That said, I did make the top piece to the built-in bookcase between the great room and the kitchen last summer and got it up the same time D&D were doing the moulding.  Basically, I needed extra hands to get it up there, and I’m glad I had them, because it turns out the walls don’t really line up on either side and I had to unscrew the sides and get them lined up.  Of course, it’s always more of an ordeal than you think it’s going to be.  But it got up there!  I still need to make the corners, eventually . . .

Making the piece in the basement
Making the piece in the basement

I had to take all the books out of the sides to move them
I had to take all the books out of the sides to move them

And they're up!
And they’re up!

One comment on “Built-in, Part 2

Leave a Reply

